Short Stays

Even if you would only like to stay a short time in Germany, you will need – with some exceptions – a visa.
• Visitor’s Visa
• Business Visa
A short stay may not last longer than 3 months. During this time you may not engage in any form of employment. However in the context of a business visit, you may of course participate in a business meeting in the service of a foreign firm.
You may obtain a visa from the German representation abroad (consulate or embassy). You will find information on whether you need to apply for a visa and what you need to do this on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs on the right-hand side.
Visitor’s Visa
If you invite foreign guests who need a visitor’s visa and are not sufficiently solvent, then it is necessary to submit a so-called Obligation Declaration to the Foreigners Authority. In this you must declare, among other things, that you will assume all costs that may arise during your guest’s visit, for example, if your guest falls ill and this is not assumed by the required health insurance.
Please take note of the accompanying information in the Info Block on the right-hand side.
Business Visa
If you wish to invite someone as an entrepreneur (for example for negotiations), you may declare your willingness to assume all costs on a letter with the firm’s letterhead. In this case the signature must be notarised.
A Visitor’s or Business Visa is issued as a "Schengen Visa". With a valid Schengen Visa you can travel to all of the member states of the Schengen Agreement (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden).

Kurzaufenthalte

Auch wenn Sie sich nur kurz in Deutschland aufhalten möchten, brauchen Sie - bis auf einige Ausnahmen - ein Visum.
• Besuchsvisum
• Geschäftsvisum
Ein Kurzaufenthalt darf nicht länger als 3 Monate dauern. In dieser Zeit dürfen Sie keine Erwerbstätigkeit ausüben. Allerdings können Sie natürlich bei einem Geschäftsbesuch im Auftrag einer ausländischen Firma an einer geschäftlichen Besprechung teilnehmen.
Ein Visum bekommen Sie bei der deutschen Vertretung (Konsulat oder Botschaft) im Ausland. Ob Sie ein Visum beantragen müssen und was Sie dafür brauchen, finden Sie auf den rechts hinterlegten Internetseiten des Auswärtigen Amtes.

Besuchsvisum
Wenn Sie ausländische Gäste einladen, die ein Besuchsvisum brauchen und über keine ausreichende Solvenz verfügen, ist es erforderlich, eine sogenannte Verpflichtungserklärung bei der Ausländerbehörde abzugeben. Darin müssen Sie unter anderem erklären, dass Sie alle Kosten, die während des Besuches Ihres Gastes entstehen könnten, übernehmen, beispielsweise, wenn Ihr Gast krank wird und dies nicht von der erforderlichen Krankenversicherung übernommen wird.

Bitte beachten Sie hierzu die ergänzenden Hinweise im Infoblock auf der rechten Seite.

Geschäftsvisum
Wer als Unternehmerin oder Unternehmer jemanden einladen möchte (z.B. zu Verhandlungen), kann auf einem Briefbogen der Firma formlos seine Bereitschaft zur Übernahme aller Kosten erklären. Die Unterschrift muss in diesem Fall beglaubigt werden.
Ein Besuchs- oder Geschäftsvisum wird als "Schengen-Visum" erteilt. Mit einem gültigen Schengen-Visum können Sie in alle Mitgliedstaaten des Schengener Abkommens (Belgien, Dänemark, Finnland, Frankreich, Griechenland, Island, Italien, Luxemburg, Niederlande, Norwegen, Österreich, Portugal, Schweden, Spanien) reisen.